Draft Audio Story

For this project I decided to create an audio story revolving around the concept of fashion- as many may take for granted the effects fashion imposes on humans. I decided to ask two of my close friends and myself the question, “What about fashion attracts you and how has it influenced you?”. I made sure to prepare for this assignment by listening to my favorite podcast by confidence coach- Isabel Palacios. I was analyzing the way she spoke and how she was able to thoroughly explain her concepts in her podcast without derailing the listeners away. I wanted to create something uplifting and inspiring. The elements in my audio include two of the people whom I believe have exceptional style and had them describe what fashion meant to them. I compiled all of our responses in my audio and made sure to include three recordings in the multi-track session and a fourth one being the chimes we were freely able to use and download from the tutorials before to provide an intro and outro to the audio story. I made sure to cut bits and pieces of the recordings where the speakers would usually get off track or simply had empty space in the recording. I also was able to adjust the volume and pan of the voices on the track by adjusting it to level 5.0. I decided to add an effect to our voices so they could sound focused without having an echo or noise surrounding it. I was facing lots of technical challenges as I am very slow with computer software. One of the major problems I was facing was converting my recordings from being offline to online. I had no idea what that meant, and my recordings were not playing, so I was freaking out. Luckily, I googled it and was able to solve it. Once again used “chime 1” and “chime 2” from our previous audition tutorials in my audio story.

3 thoughts on “Draft Audio Story

  1. Hello! Your audio story about fashion is really inspiring, and gives a different perspective about why it’s important. Both of your guest had clear and precise answers. The volume was consistent throughout which made it easy to concentrate on. In your writing, I liked how you looked for inspiration from some of your favorite podcasts. I can tell that this is something you’re incredibly passionate about, which makes it even more fun to listen to.
    As for a critique, you could try introducing your guests. This might give the listener more background about who they are, and why their opinion matters. It could be something as brief as, saying their name and their major. Also, in your writing, try breaking the writing into paragraphs. This will make it easier for the reader to take away the main concepts and fully understand your project.
    You did a really great job, and I look forward to hearing your final project.

    Like

  2. Hi Athziri!
    Your course topic is really cool and I haven’t seen anyone else use fashion as their topic yet. I like that you decided to interview your friends because it allows a feeling of connection to your audience as well as your friends. Also, I think it’s cool that you mentioned you listened to your confidence coach before creating this project because it adds credibility. I also think you had really great questions that were complex and made the person you were interviewing really think and talk about their response.
    One thing I would like to add would be to maybe fade in the chime because it starts off really loud. You should also let your friends introduce themselves. Also, the last chime is introduced very suddenly after the last person answers. Maybe add a little pause and fade in in so it’s more subtle.
    Overall, your audio story is very authentic and I like that you had multiple people to interview. I also like that each of your friends added a connection with fashion because it really makes a difference in their lives. Good luck with your final project!
    -Alyssa

    Like

  3. Your audio story was really interesting as I never really looked at fashion as a reflection of oneself and it is very cool to see that perspective on it. One thing you may look to change is instead of having your guest speak immediately, you could record yourself giving each friend a brief introduction before hand so the listeners get a better idea of who is talking. Another thing you could do is space out your interviews or separate them with a sound for a transition of sorts, this would help your audio story become easier to focus on and understand as a whole. I like how you interviewed two people instead of one because it definitely provides multiple views on your topic and creates a credibility that wouldn’t have been there otherwise. Overall a very good audio story with some simple edits to be made and it was cool to see someone so passionate about their topic.

    Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started