Reflection Blog Post

During the fall semester of 2019, I had the chance to be a student partaking in the course of COM 210. Throughout the entire process of learning about the multiple Adobe software’s, I will say that I found all softwares very difficult, but the one whom I felt most comfortable using was Adobe Audition and therefore, I felt like it was my favorite and most memorable.

My Adobe Audition story consisted of various people whom I cherish such as my brother, best friend and longtime roommate. I was able to ask them and interview them about a topic very intriguing to me- fashion. It was exciting because I was able to gain a different perspective of a subject, I thought I was well aware of, but you can learn so much more if someone just listens. And for that reason, I was able to connect to this project more. Through the simple act of hearing, I was able to tell a story and help the listeners visualize it. The story involved a narrative of personal stories and the story of how fashion had managed to improve their lives. It was a different way of processing something other than having to visually see it.

There were various skills I learned throughout this course, for example, I was able to use photoshop and learn the basics of it. I was always terribly afraid to use any type of software because I just have never been a computer savvy type of person. Through photoshop, I learned to be patient by taking my time to visualize and create my thoughts into the project itself. It was challenging, but patience and adobe software techniques such as the tweaking of the saturation of a picture happens to go a long way. I will definitely be able to use my patience in the future during stressful work periods, and because of this course I will be a lot better at managing those moments of chaos in the office.

In my future, I visualize myself working at a record label, cosmopolitan and or the Spotify headquarters. It’s a far stretch, but not impossible. I am pursuing a major in public relations, so this class has definitely helped in setting a basic understanding of all the varieties of software. Working for such large corporations, you may be asked to work and have your input on various projects that were created using these software’s, so it is essential in this time of age for my career to carry some basic knowledge with me.

Something I do wish I would have learned in this course would be how to record music or make beats and arrange them, just to make this course a bit more creative. I was able to gain help from other YouTube videos on how to create headings on my videos and add a thumbnail, but other than that, I wanted things to derive ideas from my own thoughts. Overall, I am glad that I got a “taste” of creating content for myself and by myself- something I never saw myself doing because if how challenging it all seemed. It was very time consuming, but interesting. I enjoyed the class and also enjoyed deepening my relationship with fashion through this blog. I am definitely leaving inspired and motivated with fashion on my mind.

Fashion is a lifestyle.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started